Telephone: (803) 896-4630 Laura Smith Ty'Yona Schofield William Tiller, Manager Georgia Lewis
Advice Counsel to the Board
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels, as well as their administrative staff.
These attorneys do not provide legal advice to
parties outside LLR.
Telephone: (803) 896-4630
William Tiller, Manager
ONLINE RECIPROCAL APPRAISER APPLICATION
The reciprocal application is intended only for use by persons who reside in another state and are certified or licensed as real estate appraisers.
INSTRUCTIONS (Read Carefully)
Until you are officially certified or licensed by the S. C. Real Estate Appraisers Board and have received your wall certificate and pocket card, you must not engage in or conduct or advertise or hold yourself out as engaging in or conducting the business of or act in the capacity of a state certified or licensed real estate appraiser in South Carolina. Your wall certificate and pocket card will be mailed to you within two weeks of your submission of a properly completed application.
Each classification of appraiser reflects the scope of work that the appraiser may undertake and accordingly, each has differing qualifications. The scope of work for each classification may change if the federal government adjusts its guidelines.
The state certified general real estate appraiser is authorized to engage in any type of real estate appraisal activity regardless of transaction value.
The state certified residential real estate appraiser is authorized to appraise properties in federally related transactions of residential 1 - 4 unit properties without regard to transaction value or complexity of the appraisal; appraisals of nonresidential properties where the transaction value is less than $250,000.
The state licensed real estate appraiser is authorized to appraise properties in federally related transactions of non-complex 1 - 4 residential units having a transaction value less than $1,000,000 and complex 1 - 4 residential units having a transaction value less than $250,000; and appraisals of nonresidential properties where the transaction value is less than $250,000.
Additional Required Documentation
Certified copy of certification or licensing history from the regulatory authority in the state in which you reside (not more than 90 days old).
A nonrefundable fee of $390 will be charged to be paid with a credit card or online check. When you provide a check as payment, you authorize us to use information from the check to make a one-time electronic fund transfer from your account, or to process the payment as a check transaction. You authorize us to collect a fee through electronic fund transfer from your account if your payment is returned unpaid. The fee will cover the following items:
(1) Certification or license from the date of issuance until June 30th of the next renewal year.
(2) A registry fee to be paid to the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council as required by federal law.
From the online application page make sure to select the proper application option:
State Certified General Real Estate Appraiser
300 hours of education and 3000 hours appraisal experience of which at least 1500 hours experience must be in nonresidential appraising.
State Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser
200 hours of education and 2500 hours appraisal experience.
State Licensed Real Estate Appraiser
150 hours of education and 2000 hours appraisal experience.